During Labor day weekend, I set out with a plan to race in the Armed Forces MTB Race in Garmisch.  I was warned by a few folks that the race would be sorta lame.  After a month of Germany MTB, I already knew that American MTB is much different.  I’m not even a picky rider.  I was just looking for some single track or single trail as they call it here.  But I’ve discovered that Germans do not like bikes on their single trails.  I decided to at least give the race course a pre-ride.  Garmish is beautiful but the course was a disappointment.  I drove 5 hours for this!  Half of it wasn’t even on trails.  It was just grass that was taped off.  What a waste of beautiful landscape.  To make light of the situation, I decided to take a 30 minute drive to Leemoor, Austria.  I had heard of some bikeguides at www.bikeguiding.at.  After a 5 minute interview with Georg Mott, he determined that I needed to be in their number 1 group which he described as a free-ride tour.  Since I don’t do jumps and trips, free-ride sounded intimidating.  I met up with the group on Saturday morning at 0915 at the Sporthotel Loisach.  There were several groups and everyone broke off into their abilities.

Using a bike guide was genius.  I didn’t have to pull out any maps or worry about getting lost.  We took breaks at a few nice restaurants.  I was the only English speaker in the bunch but everyone was very friendly.  And the price couldn’t be beat!  55 euro for 2 full days of all mountain singletrail riding.  Wow!  I couldn’t tell you where he took us but it was a lot of climbing and a lot of technical decents.  I would call the trails more All mountain/ Enduro versus Free-ride.  There were no jumps.  Tons of natural single track which I was very happy that I finally found some great singletrack in Europe.  I’ll definitely be back.

Here are some pictures of the weekend.

About dpangster

The Earth is my playground and my goal is to explore its entirety. This is my adventure blog. If I could, I would spend all day outside. My lifestyle revolves around living healthy and being fit.

2 responses »

  1. […] ratings are not standard across Europe.  This has been a chronic problem for me.  When I was in Leemoors, Austria, the guide described the trails as freeride but there were tons of climbing!  I brought a Pivot […]

  2. […] ratings are not standard across Europe.  This has been a chronic problem for me.  When I was in Leemoors, Austria, the guide described the trails as freeride but there were tons of climbing!  I brought a Pivot […]

Leave a Reply

