So far Wiesbaden is awesome!  It’s a commuter’s dream.  I took the train to Frankfurt last weekend on 7 euro.  Both Wiesbaden and Frankfurt have excellent bus systems.  Since I got my fixie in last Thursday, the one thing I wanted to tackle this weekend was the bike paths.  There is a maze of paths that go to the surrounding cities.  The paths go through large fields and pop out into the little towns.  My first stop was the book store.  I spent approximately 30 euros on maps. 

Wiesbaden Area Maps

I was on a mission to figure out how to get to work from my hotel room on my bike.  This I thought would be relatively simple.  Afterall, I had a spend small fortune at the bookstore.  I literally had all the knowledge on my finger tips and in my backpack.  Out of all the maps I bought, the topo map ended up being the only one with all the bike paths. 

Topo map had all the bike paths on it

(I was very disappointed that the radkarte, bike map, did not have the bike paths on it.  It did however have a bunch of great road riding type routes in it.  I’ll have to save that for when I get a road bike one day. )  With the topo map in hand, I send out to discover the bike paths.  I soon realized was that none of the roads were marked.  I spent the day riding a path towards a neighbour town, ending up in the middle of the town, and then trying to figure out on what road i just magically appeared in.  Thank goodness for my iPhone.  With a pen, I began writing in street names on the map.  After day 2, I had mapped out a route to work which ended up being shorter to work on the bike paths then taking the roads and a car. 

Bike paths are marked green

R6 path pops out in the the town of Erbenheim

Directional markers to neighbouring towns

All in all, it was a great weekend of riding and exploring.  Next weekend I plan on figuring out how to get from my potential new apartment to work.  Until then, Auf Wiedersehen!

About dpangster

The Earth is my playground and my goal is to explore its entirety. This is my adventure blog. If I could, I would spend all day outside. My lifestyle revolves around living healthy and being fit.

Leave a Reply

