Having just moved to Germany, I’ve decided to use this opportunity to make a lifestyle change and cycle to work.  I’m an avid mountain biker and have always wanted to ride to work to get in the training miles.  Living in San Antonio with the horrid drivers the last seven years has prevented me from doing so.  During my first week here, I decided to order a fixie.  Being 4’10”, it was more difficult that I thought it would be.  I found several $300 generic fixies on eBay but none of them came in my size.  Having already owned a steel hard tail with S&S couplers, I already knew that steel was real and would be the idea material for a commuter bike.  Delivery to Germany was another issue.  It was difficult to find vendors that would deliver to an international address.  I would have had to pay $500 more on the Germany economy.  After searching through manufacturer’s websites paying close attention to geometry, I found that the Salsa Casseroll came in my size and was 4130 chromoly.  After some more searching on Google, I found a complete single speed bike for $625 with $40 in shipping.  It took a week and a half but the bike is here.  Due to lack of planning on my part, I didn’t have any tools to put the bike together.  I found a bike store that whipped the bike together on Friday evening right before closing.  Here she is all put together. 

French

As spec'd by Salsa

Basic build:

  • Frame/Fork: Salsa Classico butted CroMoly frame and 1-1/8″ fork
  • Steering: Salsa Moto Ace Short & Shallow Bar 26.0mm Salsa Gel Cork Bar Tape, Kalloy Stem, Cane Creek S-3 Headset 1-1/8″
  • Brakes: Tektro R536 Brakes w/Cartridge Pads (45-57mm Reach) Silver, Tektro R200A Brake Levers Silver
  • Drivetrain: Sugino RD2 Singlespeed Crankset Silver, Sugino 48t Chainring Silver, SRAM PC951 9-spd Chain Silver, Shimano 18 Freewheel, Sugino BB-103 68x103mm Square Taper Bottom Bracket
  • Wheels/Tires: Surly 1×1 100mm Front Silver, Surly 1×1 130mm Fixed/Free Flip/Flop Bolt-On Rear Silver, Salsa Delgado Cross Rims, DT Swiss Competition 2.0mm Silver Spokes, Formula Front Quick Release Silver, Continental Contact 700c x 37mm Tires, and Q-Tubes Included
  • Seatpost/Saddle: Kalloy Radiused, Salsa Lip-Lock Seatpost Clamp, WTB Silverado Race Black Saddle w/Salsa Embroidery
  • I’ve spent the weekend riding the bike paths that surround the city of Wiesbaden trying to figure out how to get to work in the least amount of traffic.  I’ll write about that adventure soon.  After the past two days of riding, I already know that there are some changes on the bike that will take place.  I’ve ordered some tubeless cross tires and a stans rim stripe.  I’ll use this blog to update y’all on her upgrades.

    About dpangster

    The Earth is my playground and my goal is to explore its entirety. This is my adventure blog. If I could, I would spend all day outside. My lifestyle revolves around living healthy and being fit.

    Leave a Reply

    